In what is the first major move to make Instagram more like Facebook since the acquisition last year, users can now tag their Instagram photos.
“Photos are memories of the people, places and moments that mean the most to us,” the company blog said. “We have always sought to give you simple and expressive ways to bring the stories behind your photos to life. Your captions and hashtags capture the ‘what?’ and your Photo Map answers the ‘where?’ but until today we’ve never quite been able to answer the ‘who?’”
As with many features that give other people access to your information online, yes – there is a way to adjust your settings and control who sees what. There will now be a “Photos of You” section on profiles, with the option to adjust settings so users can approve a photo before others can see it. Users can also opt to hide a photo tagged of them from their profile by simply tapping on their name in the tagged photo and selecting “Hide from My Profile.” On the flip side, if you decide you actually do want people to see that photo, go through the same steps and select “Show on My Profile.” They can also completely remove themselves from a tagged photo by tapping their name on a tagged photo, selecting “More Options” and then “Remove Me from Photo.”
Just like getting tagged in a photo or post on Facebook, you will receive a notification if someone tags you in a photo. If your Instagram account is private, only people following you will be able to see photos tagged of you.
Users can tag any other Instagram account in a photo, including friends, brands and businesses. For now, only you can tag your own photos. You have until May 16 to play with the feature until the section is available for others to see.
More questions? Click here for Instagram’s help center on the Photos of You feature.